Formalities during and at the end of your studies

Application formalities

For information on the application procedure, please refer to our page for international applicants.

Formalities during your studies

Re-Registration (Rückmeldung)

You are required to re-register at the university before the start of each semester. This is done by transferring the Semesterbeitrag.The bank details can be found in your C@mpus account.  Pay attention to the re-registration deadline (Rückmeldefrist). It is January 15th–February 15th for the following summer semester and July 15th–August 15th for the following winter semester. 

Change of address

If you change your address during your stay it is your duty to inform the following institutions (this also applies if you are staying in the same city or even in the same dormitory):

  • Residents' Registration Office (Rathaus/Bürgerbüro): Fill in the form "Ummeldung"
  • Office of Admissions for International Students (Studiensekretariat für ausländische Studierende): Adress and contact details can be changed in the LSF.
    Explanation (German only): LSF-Guidance (pdf iconpdf)
  • Office of International Affairs (IA): Write an e-mail to incoming@ia.uni-stuttgart.de
  • Health insurance company
  • Bank
  • Your telephone company
  • Any other relevant institution/person that needs to know about your departure 

Formalities at the end of your studies 

Exmatriculation

At the end of your studies, your enrolment as a student at the University of Stuttgart ends. For exmatriculation you need the form Exmatrikulationsformular available at the Office of Admissions (Studiensekretariat für AusländerInnen und EU-BürgerInnen) or on the internet at http://www.uni-stuttgart.de/studieren/service/admin/exma/index.html (in German). Please get the form stamped with a so-called Entlastungsstempel:

  • at the university library and
  • at the Office of International Affairs.

Please hand in the form to the Office of Admissions for International Students (Studiensekretariat für AusländerInnen und EU-BürgerInnen). About three weeks after you have handed in the form, you will receive the certificate of exmatriculation (Exmatrikulationsbescheinigung) by postal mail to the address which you have indicated in the Exmatrikulationsformular

ALUMNI Network of the University of Stuttgart

Should you wish to keep in touch with the University of Stuttgart, please feel free to become a member of the Alumni network. 

Cancellation of the registration at the Bürgerbüro/Einwohnermeldeamt

Before you leave Stuttgart you have to deregister at the Bürgerbüro/Einwohnermeldeamt with the green cancellation form (Abmeldung) which is available at the Bürgerbüro or at the Office of International Affairs.

Cancellation of health insurance

As a rule it is only possible to cancel your health insurance at the end of a semester. After submitting the de-registration form Exmatrikulationsformular to the university, your health insurance company will automatically be informed by the university of your de-registration, and your insurance contract will end then.

Cancellation of bank account

Before you leave Stuttgart you should cancel your bank account. Please go to the bank in person and return your bank cards. In exceptional cases (if you are still awaiting money transfers to your account) the account can also be cancelled by e-mail.

Moving out of the dormitory 

Deposit reimbursement

When you move out of the dormitory, the dormitory deposit of EUR 400 can be refunded. You need a form (Laufzettel) from the janitor which confirms you handed over your room in an acceptable condition. The deposit will be transferred to your bank account. Students without bank account in Germany, the European Union or in the countries of Iceland, Norway and Switzerland can collect the deposit directly from the Studentenwerk Stuttgart. Prerequisite: a receipt of the bank in Germany confirming that you have already closed your bank account. Please call the person in charge for your dormitory at the Studentenwerk Stuttgart and make an appointment for the reimbursement of your deposit.

De-registration of "Rundfunkbeitrag"

If you change or quit your residence in Germany, you need to change your account or de-register your Rundfunkbeitrag to avoid further payments.
In case of changes use the form “Ändern” (change).

To de-register use the form “Abmeldung” (de-register).

Formalitäten während und am Ende des Studiums

Wichtige Formalitäten während und am Ende Ihres Studiums

Bewerbungsverfahren

Für Informationen zum Bewerbungsverfahren besuchen Sie bitte folgende Seite: Bewerbungsverfahren für internationale Studierende.

Formalitäten während des Studiums

Rückmeldung

Sie müssen sich jeweils vor Anfang eines neuen Semesters an der Universität zurückmelden. Dies geschieht mit der Überweisung der Semestergebühren. Bitte beachten Sie dabei unbedingt die Rückmeldezeiträume! Das sind – für das jeweils folgende Sommersemester – der 15. Januar bis 15. Februar und – für das jeweils folgende Wintersemester der 15. Juli bis 15.August. Informationen über Ihre Rückmeldegebühr erhalten Sie über das C@mpus Portal.

Adressänderung

Wenn Sie während Ihres Aufenthaltes in Deutschland Ihre Adresse ändern, müssen sie selbstständig folgende Institutionen, Ämter und Stellen informieren (das gilt auch für Umzüge oder Adressänderungen innerhalb einer Stadt oder eines Wohnheims):

  • Einwohnermeldeamt (Rathaus/Bürgerbüro): Bitte benutzen Sie das Formular "Ummeldung"
  • Studiensekretariat für AusländerInnen und EU-Bürger: Adresse und Kontaktdaten können im LSF selbst geändert werden. Erläuterungen: LSF-Anleitung (pdf iconpdf)
  • Internationales Zentrum (IZ): Schreiben Sie eine Mail an incoming@ia.uni-stuttgart.de
  • Krankenversicherung
  • Bank
  • Ihrer Telefongesellschaft
  • Alle weiteren Institutionen oder Personen, für die Ihre Adressänderung wichtig sein könnte

Formalitäten am Ende des Studiums

Exmatrikulation

Mit dem Ende Ihres Studiums sind Sie an der Universität Stuttgart nicht mehr als Studierender eingeschrieben. Um sich zu exmatrikulieren brauchen Sie das Exmatrikulationsformular. Dieses können Sie im Internationalen Zentrum oder im Studiensekretariat für AusländerInnen und EU-Bürger oder im Internet erhalten: http://www.uni-stuttgart.de/studieren/service/admin/exma/index.html (auf Deutsch). Bitte lassen Sie sich Ihre Exmatrikulation auf diesem Formular mit einem sogenannten Entlastungsstempel bestätigen:

  • in der Universitätsbibliothek und
  • im Internationalen Zentrum

Bitte reichen Sie danach das Formular im Studiensekretariat für AusländerInnen und EU‑Bürger ein. Nach etwa drei Wochen nach Einreichen bekommen Sie die Exmatrikulationsbescheinigung per Post an die Adresse, die sie im Exmatrikulationsformular angegeben haben.

ALUMNI Netzwerk der Universität Stuttgart

Sollten Sie nach Ihrem Aufenthalt den Kontakt zur Universität Stuttgart aufrecht erhalten wollen, ist die Mitgliedschaft im Alumni-Netzwerk der einfachste Weg dazu. 

Abmelden beim Bürgerbüro/Einwohnermeldeamt

Bevor Sie Stuttgart verlassen, müssen Sie sich beim Rathaus/Bürgerbüro/Einwohnermeldeamt abmelden. Benutzen Sie dafür das grüne Abmeldeformular, das Sie im Bürgerbüro oder im Internationalen Zentrum bekommen können. 

Kündigen der Krankenversicherung

Die Kündigung der Krankenversicherung ist nur zum Ende eines Semesters möglich. Nach Einreichen des Exmatrikulationsformulars an der Universität Stuttgart wird Ihre Krankenversicherung automatisch über Ihre Exmatrikulation benachrichtigt und die entsprechende Versicherung gekündigt. 

Kündigung des Bankkontos

Bevor Sie Stuttgart verlassen, sollten Sie Ihr Bankkonto kündigen. Dafür müssen Sie persönlich zu einer Filiale Ihrer Bank und Ihre Bankkarten zurückgeben. In Ausnahmefällen (z. B. wenn Sie noch Überweisungen an das deutsche Bankkonto erwarten) kann das Bankkonto auch per E-Mail gekündigt werden.

Auszug aus dem Wohnheim

  • Kautionsrückzahlung
    Wenn Sie aus einem Wohnheim ausziehen, kann die Kaution in Höhe von 400 EUR erstattet werden. Dafür brauchen Sie einen Laufzettel vom Hausmeister, der Ihnen den einwandfreien Zustand Ihres Zimmer bei Auszug bestätigt. Nach der Bestätigung des Hausmeisters bekommen Sie die Kautionsrückzahlung auf Ihr Bankkonto überwiesen. Studierdende ohne Bankkonto in Deutschland, Europa, Island, Norwegen oder der Schweiz können sich die Kaution direkt im Studentenwerk Stuttgart zurück geben lassen.Voraussetzung dafür ist eine Bestätigung Ihrer Bank über die Kündigung Ihres Bankkontos. Für die Auszahlung der Kaution vereinbaren Sie bitte einen Termin mit dem Ihrem Ansprechpartner beim Studentenwerk Stuttgart.
  • Abmelden vom "Rundfunkbeitrag"
  • Sobald Sie in Deutschland Ihren Wohnort ändern oder abmelden, müssen Sie Ihre Angaben zum Rundfunkbeitrag aktualisieren oder den Rundfunkbeitrag abmelden, um weitere Zahlungen zu vermeiden.
  • Bei Änderungen benutzen Sie bitte das Formular „Ändern“.
  • Für die Abmeldung benutzen sie bitte das Formular „Abmeldung“